Relateable Me

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Pride and Prejudice and life lessons February 28, 2009

Last night I watched Pride and Prejudice – the original BBC edition with Colin Firth and Jennifer Ehle – not the watered down pathetic Keira Knightly waste of film. Eliza Bennett – what can you say, she is amazing. Although she lets her prejudice get the best of her, she is a lady through and through. In former days I would have lied to myself and sat in delusional superiority thinking “we are so alike,” but alas my senses have gotten the best of me as I’ve gotten older, and I have to admit I have a lot of her insipid sisters in me as well.  I am really not much of a romantic, but movies like this bring it alive in me. I used to be romantic, until I got married. That sounds horrible, but I think romanticism can be a hallucinagenic drug convincing you of another reality. There is a place for the romantic, but if you look for it everyday, you will be sorely dissapointed and declare, “Alas, it is all a lie.” Maybe I’m too much the realist or the pessimist, but I find there are fewer dissapointment when you don’t expect what aint’ going to happen. Plus, I have to say that “romantic” is completely relative – I’m not flowers and candlelight, but I guess I am “Pride and Prejudice,” because it’s real, human and the road to love is long and paved with potholes.

If I could run a modern finishing school, my first two lessons would be:

 #1 Watch Pride and Prejudice and make every attempt to examine and mimic Ms. Bennett.

#2 Watch Bridget Jones’ Diary and make every attempt Not to mimic Ms. Jones. 

As much as I adore both those movies, the behaviour of Ms. Jones makes me cringe and I wonder how the amazing Mark Darcy could be so blind, yet I’m so happy at the end. I have to admit, I probably would have been equally as foolish and “dipped my nib” in the office  ink and dated Hugh Grant -please it’s Hugh Grant and I have to admit, I’ve dated my share of his character.

Anyways, I diverge…amazing movie, amazing character sketch, amazing life lessons

 

One Response to “Pride and Prejudice and life lessons”

  1. Kaylynn Says:

    Just dropping by.Btw, you website have great content!

    ______________________________
    Unlimited 24/7 Movie Downloads!!! No time limits, no bandwidth limits, no content limits!!!


Leave a Reply

