Relateable Me

Just another WordPress.com weblog

A Weekend of Firsts February 8, 2010

Filed under: Adventures — relateableme @ 5:07 am

I love adventure and lately I’ve had to make my own – my life is not full of wonderful uncertainties like it used to be.  On Saturday I took the kids to a nearby “cheap” theater to see “The Princess and the Frog.” It was pouring rain, so it was a perfect day to hide inside. We had a great time and when we came out it was pouring even worse than before the movie began. As my husband had the car and he wasn’t due back for another hour and a half, I decided to do something I’ve never done before – sneak into another movie. Ok, I’m not a rebel and obviously, most of my adventures thus far have been rather legal, but it was so fun. My son was totally oblivious to what we were doing, but my daughter was so nervous and excited at the same time – very cute. She knew we were breaking the rules and was giddy, wondering if we were going to get caught. We watched about half of the movie, then they got bored and we left. When we came  out of the theater, the sun was out and we walked next door and had pizza until daddy came.

My other “first” was riding a moped. My husband bought one a few years ago to get to work and back when gas was through the roof, but I never wanted to ride it alone – it’s way too big for me. Today we were at my sister-in-law’s for Super Bowl and her family collects mopeds, Vespas  etc. After the guys went for a ride, my nieces asked me to go – it was AWESOME! I wanted to go faster and faster – it was so freeing and now I know why my husband loves his.  Everything just slipped away and I was overwhelmed with joy. It was freezing outside, so we only went out for about 10 minutes, but I can’t wait for warmer weather and may have to consider getting one – very freeing!

 

Leave a Reply

