Relateable Me

Just another WordPress.com weblog

A Mommy Moment April 1, 2010

Filed under: Random nonsense — relateableme @ 11:54 pm

I had an amazing mom moment the other night. Let me preface this with the fact that I love my sleep – it is very precious to me and that was a huge factor in not having more kids. It might sound selfish, but seriously, I know my limitations. I used to lose it when my kids would wake me in the night. That was my time, the only thing I had left to claim as my own – all of me was occupied by something/someone else.

The other night my son woke me up about 12:30 AM with a bloody nose. I was in a fog, but took him to the bathroom to clean up. I asked him if he wanted me so sleep with him. We squeezed into his single bed, on the bottom bunk and proceeded to spend a very uncomfortable, but wonderful night. I loved being close to him and sharing those quiet moments.

When we woke up in the morning, he lifted his head and his sleepy eyes opened in sheer delight, like Christmas morning in a smile. He was delighted to see me. It melted my to see him, all happiness and little ears and have him nuzzle his head close to mine. To wake up and feel such acceptance and know someone took such sweet pleasure in my company was a treasure.

 

Leave a Reply

